Have you heard of bubble tea? It’s the perfect party in a cup! Compared to traditional tea this latest tea trend is so special because of the “sunken treasures”, which nestle at the bottom of the plastic cup. The fruity or milky drink is refined with little tapioca pearls (or “bobas”), which look like little bubbles. There are hundreds of different combinations for each individual taste.
But is the jelly drink also suitable for vegetarians? Read more about bubble tea after the click:
I like to drink my bubble tea hot with strawberry taste and passionfruit bobas. It’s such a funny feeling when they pop up in my mouth and add some novel chewiness to my thirst-quenching drink. London’s best place to enjoy a cup of bubble tea is Bubbleology in 49 Rupert Street. The shop looks like a colorful laboratory, full of bubbling chemistry sets.
What is tapioca?
Tapioca is a starch extracted from the cassava plant. It’s used worldwide as thickening agent in food, it’s gluten-free and almost completely protein-free. The color of tapioca varies depending on the ingredients of the pearls.
Being a vegetarian, I was a bit skeptical about what the little bubbles are made of. They look a bit like gummi bears and many vegetarians, including me, don’t eat gelatin. But no worries! Vegetarians are very much welcome to join Bubbleology for a molecular spectacular pearl tea drink.